About the Trust

Saffron Academy Trust (SAT) was formed in 2011 when its founder school, Saffron Walden County High School, converted to academy status. 

Since then, SAT has grown and now comprises Saffron Walden County High School, Katherine Semar Junior and Infant schools and R A Butler Junior and Infant schools in Saffron Walden, Alec Hunter Academy and Beckers Green Primary School in Braintree, Honywood School in Coggeshall, and Helena Romanes School in Great Dunmow, which is an all-through school. 

The Trust also encompasses The Saffron Teaching School Hub, one of the first Teaching School Hubs to be designated nationally.  Through the Hub and an extensive range of collaborative partnerships, the Trust provides support to a number of other primary and secondary schools.  One key aspect of the  support we provide is to deliver high quality CPD focused both on classroom practice and leadership development. 

The Aims of the Trust 

The educational aims of SAT are to support and promote; 

  • Educational provision which enables pupils and young people, aged 3-19, of all abilities to fulfil their academic potential and achieve their personal best. 

  • A curriculum across all key stages which promotes excellence in the arts and sciences. 

  • Teaching and learning which is highly engaging and geared to students making excellent progress through the key stages. 

  • Transition between key stages (especially key stage 2 to key stage 3) which delivers outstanding continuity of learning. 

  • A focus on developing all professionals to deliver the highest quality of teaching to all our learners. 

  • Schooling which is outward looking and allows students to interact with ideas and people from around the world. 

  • Educational research into factors underpinning successful schools and highly effective learning. 

  • Involvement with the local area in a way which promotes community cohesion and cultural excellence, especially with regard to music and the arts.